top of page
pexels-judita-tamošiūnaitė-2026764 1.png
image 207.png

Frequently Asked Questions

What is NDIS?

The National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS), supports people with disabilities with funding based on their individual needs. Every participant has their own individual plan, and participants control the amount of support they receive.

NDIS is progressively always introduced across all states and territories of Australia. The NDIS gives Australians the peace of mind; for example, if a loved one has been born with or developed a disability, they will receive the support they need.


The NDIS is being administered by the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) which is governed by a Board.

The NDIA holds all funds contributed by the Commonwealth, states and territories, manages access to the NDIS and approves the payment of support packages of participants.

What is SDA?

Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) is a form of housing that is designed to enable eligible participants of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS) to receive the support they need to live in the community and improve the delivery of their supports.


Participants who have extreme functional impairment and/or very high needs of support, are eligible for SDA housing. Each SDA dwelling has a suitable and accessible design standard to help the participant live more independently.


This helps to motivate the housing market to produce high quality, contemporary, accessible and well-designed housing for participants with SDA funding in their plan.

What are the SDA design standards?

The SDA Design Standards are a detailed set of requirements for all new Specialist Disability Accommodation (SDA) that covers 4 categories of SDA design.

- Improved Liveability

- Robust

- Fully Accessible

-High Physical Support

In addition to meeting the Design Standard, SDA must also comply with the Australian National Construction Code. These requirements are put in place to ensure that participants can safely access high quality, well maintained SDA homes that meet their needs

SDA Categories

Improved Liveability - these are homes with better physical access. They also have more features for participants living with sensory, intellectual, or cognitive impairments. For example, participants may need walls and floors that are very easy to see, living areas where participants can easily be seen by support workers, or very few  stairs.

Robust - These homes are built to be extra strong and durable, reducing the need for repair. They are designed to ensure the safety of participants in the the home. This type of SDA may best suit participants who need support in managing complex and challenging behaviours.

Fully Accessible - Homes in this category are designed with a higher level of physical access features to cater to participants with higher physical support needs. For example those who need to use a manual of powered wheelchair at home, or cant use steps.

High Physical Support - These homes include the highest level of physical accessibility.  This category caters to the needs of participants who require very high support needs, for example they may need features like ceiling hoists, back-up power supply, or home automation and communication technology.

SDA Funding

If the participant is qualified for SDA, the amount of funding provided, will go through the National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA) and will differ on each participants’ medical requirements and support needs.

Under the NDIS, eligible participants receive funding in their plan that will be used to approach the market to find an enrolled home that helps meet their needs, maximize their independence and reach the goals in the NDIS Plan.

Who is eligible for SDA?

To be eligible for SDA Housing, the participant will need to be on the NDIS, and meet criteria of SDA Housing to be qualified.

According to the NDIS, only a small percentage (6%) of participants qualify for Specialist Disability Accommodation. This also includes people with intellectual disabilities.

The participants’ NDIS plan must include approval for SDA. Some of the criteria to be eligible for SDA Housing include:

- Must be under 65 years old

- Must be a resident of Australia

- Participant’s condition is likely to be lifelong and prevents them from doing everyday tasks independently.

Applying for Specialist Disability Accommodation

Applying for SDA is a complicated process that is meant to work alongside your NDIS plan. Housing standards need to be one of your goals – it is important to mention this at the NDIS planning meeting if seeking a new living situation.


Before the participant qualifies for SDA, they must go through an application process; even if they qualify for NDIS, that does not mean they will get SDA Housing.

How to apply for SDA Housing with SDA Global Group

If Specialist Disability Accommodation is not yet in your plan and you are interested in applying and developing an SDA property with SDA Global Group, you can inquire with:



Phone: 07 3397 4361

What other supports are funded by the NDIS

The NDIS provides funding to eligible people based on their individual needs. Each NDIS participant is different and has an individual plan that lists their goals and the funding they have received. Everyone has different goals but they can include things like getting & keeping a job, making friends, or participating in local community activities. Participants then use their funding to purchase supports and services to help them pursue their goals, participants control the support they support they receive, when they receive it, and who provides it. 

The types of support that the NDIS may fund for participants include:

- Daily personal activities

- Transport assistance - to enable participation in community, social, economic and daily life activities

- Workplace help - to support the participant in successfully get or keep employment

- Therapeutic supports including behavioral supports

- Help with household tasks to allow the participant to maintain their home environment

Help to a participant by skilled personnel in aids or equipment assessment, set up and training

- Home modification design and construction

- Mobility equipment

- Vehicle modifications

bottom of page